What is FIBA?

Pan American Basketball Confederation (or FIBA Americas according to AbbreviationFinder.org) is a non-profit organization that represents the International Basketball Federation (FIBA), in the American Continent, with jurisdiction from Canada to Argentina. It was created in accordance with the provisions of Article 43 of the FIBA General Statutes and was founded on October 11, 1975, in Mexico City.



In 1972 and 1973, the then general secretary of FIBA, William Jones and José Claudio Dos Reís, basketball leader in Brazil held a series of conversations, in which the Brazilian leader expressed the intention of some delegates from the national federations of South America to create a regional body for the American Continent with a permanent office.

The November of July of 1974, during the making of the seventh championship basketball in Puerto Rico, delegates gather for the three zones Americas: North, Central and South. The meeting is held to discuss the formation of the American team that should compete against its European counterpart and the organization of the first inter-American youth tournament at the hands of the Brazilian Basketball Confederation.

Present at this meeting were: Diana Paola Moreno, FIBA ​​Deputy Secretary for Latin America, Frank H. Spechalske, FIBA ​​Deputy Secretary for North America and leaders from Brazil, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, Argentina, the United States, Ecuador, Canada, Mexico, Panama, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Peru, Colombia and El Salvador. The meeting was carried out in an atmosphere of cordiality, collaboration and understanding, accepting unanimously the realization of a new meeting in the Paulista Federation.

Considering agreed by the Congress of South America, held in Bolivia in 1974 and taking into account specified in Article 37 of the statutes of the FIBA, on 4 and 5 maypole 1975 gathered in Sao Paulo, Brazil, secretaries generals of the basketball associations of the western hemisphere in an assembly of an advisory nature. Representatives from the three zones of America were present.

At the session of May 4, a commission was appointed made up of the President and Secretary of the South America Zone, the President and Secretary of the Central America and Caribbean Zone, a delegate from the United States, a delegate from Canada, and the two FIBA Deputy Secretaries for America.

The following day, this commission presented a proposal for a structure for the new organization, which was approved, and said commission was in charge of preparing the regulations of the new organization. Eduardo Airaldi Rivarola, Honorary Executive Secretary, was appointed, who was responsible for organizing the General Assembly that had been set for October 12, 1975 in Mexico City.


The meeting agreed in Sao Paulo, was brought forward one day and was held as agreed in the Auditorium of the Mexican Olympic Sports Center, meeting in General Assembly the delegates of the National Basketball Federations.

At this meeting the following countries were represented by their delegates: Chile, Brazil, Peru, Colombia, United States, Dominican Republic, Cuba, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Canada, El Salvador, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, Argentina, Guatemala, Bahamas, Barbados, Panama; and Ibrahim Pérez, Secretary of the Central American and Caribbean Zone and Ursula Frank, Administrative Secretary of FIBA. The 25 Articles that make up the Statute of the Pan American Basketball Confederation (FIBA Americas) were read, which once approved gave way to the founding of the Continental Organization on October 11, 1975.


North Zone Central-Caribbean Zone South American Zone
Canada Old and bearded Trinidad and Tobago Argentina
USA Netherlands Antilles Surinam Bolivia
Mexico Aruba Turks and Caicos Islands Brazil
Bahamas British Virgin Islands chili
Barbados US Virgin Islands Colombia
Belize Jamaica Ecuador
Costa Rica Montserrat Islands Paraguay
Cuba Nicaragua Peru
Dominica Panama Uruguay
The Savior Puerto Rico Venezuela
grenade Dominican Republic
Guatemala St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Guyana Cayman Islands
Haiti San Martin
Honduras St. Lucia


  • The General Assembly meets in Ordinary Session every four years, close to the dispute of the Senior Men’s World Championship
  • The Executive Committee, the General Secretariat and the Permanent International Commissions are the Technical Commission, the Finance Commission, the Statutes and Regulations Commission, the International Organizations Commission, the Women’s Basketball Commission, the Youth Men’s Basketball Commission, the Youth Women’s Basketball Commission, the Commission. of Eligibility, Commission for Handicapped Basketball.
  • Special Economic Commission, meets at least twice a year and renders reports at Executive Committee meetings.
  • Medical Council and the International Mini Basketball Committee.
  • FIBA Americas, controls, establishes the regulations and technically directs the basketball competitions, for men and women, between National Teams or Clubs that are organized at the Pan American level and where countries or teams from more than one zone participate.
  • Organizes and controls, in coordination with FIBA, the FIBA ​​Americas Men’s and Women’s Championships, determining the Financial System and the Competition System. The Americas Tournaments that will qualify for the Senior Men’s and Women’s World Championships, as well as the Junior, Women’s and Men’s Tournaments and the Young Men’s category. Prior to these events, the tournaments of the Sub Zones and Zones are held where the teams that will be active in the Centrobasket are selected, an event where the representatives of the Central American and Caribbean zone that will participate in the FIBA ​​Americas or Pre Olympic Championships are selected. The South American Tournaments are held in the same way.
  • He technically directs the Zonal and Pan American Basketball Tournaments. Examples of these are the Central American and Caribbean Games organized by the Central American and Caribbean Sports Organization (CACSO) and the Pan American Games under the jurisdiction of the Pan American Sports Organization (PASO).