What is NBA?

NBA (which stands for National Association of Basketball according to AbbreviationFinder.org) is an American league basketball professional, which was founded the 6 of June of 1946 in the city of New York under the name Basketball Association of America in the year 1949 is adopting the current name. The official offices are located in the Olympic Tower at 645 Fifth Avenue in New York, it also has the NBA Entertainment and NBA Television studios that are in Secaucus, New Jersey.


The NBA was created by the main owners of sports facilities in the Midwest and Northeast, such as Madison Square Garden in New York, in 1946. In the 1946 – 1947 season, which was the opening season, 11 teams participated.The same were: St. Louis Bombers, Cleveland Rebels, Detroit Falcons, Pittsburgh Ironmen, Boston Celtics, Philadelphia Warriors, New York Knicks, Washington Capitols, Providence Steamrollers, Toronto Huskies and Chicago Stags, of these only 3 teams have survived: Golden State Warriors, New York Knicks and Boston Celtics. Of these three teams, only two of them have not moved from the city, the Boston Celtics and the New York Knicks. The Warriors were born in Philadelphia, in 1962 they moved to San Francisco and in 1971 they moved to Oakland.

In 1950, the NBA was consolidated into eleven franchises, a process that continued until 1954, when it had only eight teams that still exist (Knicks, Celtics, Warriors, Lakers, Royals / Kings, Pistons, Hawks and Nationals / 76ers).

Today, more than fifty years later, the NBA is made up of players of many different races, as well as diverse backgrounds and cultures. The majority (80%) of gamers today are African American. After black players entered the NBA, their style of play changed itself. They had a very outgoing style, and they were faster and more skilled. They incorporated mate into the game, and they acted with somewhat cocky and showy movements.

To increase the rhythm of the game and encourage it, the 24 seconds of possession rule was incorporated, in which it was determined that a player must shoot before the time expires, or even if his shot does not touch the rim or it becomes a basket, a game violation will be called and the offensive team will lose possession.

In 1956 the Boston Celtics became a true legend, winning 11 rings in the 13 seasons in which he was active. In 1959 the central Wilt Chamberlainentered the league and in a short time he would become one of the most dominant players to ever step on a basketball court, setting all kinds of records in points and rebounds, and even scoring 100 points in a match. His rivalry with Russell is remembered as one of the greatest in sports history.

In the 1979-1980 season the league added the three-point line. That season, rookies Magic Johnson and Larry Bird would enter the league, to play for the Lakers and Celtics respectively, and a period began in which interest in the league and the number of fans grew both in the country and in the entire world. The precious rivalry between these two players was, as many say, one of the league’s saviors, who seemed to be wandering aimlessly before their arrival. Bird would win three titles with Boston, while Johnson would be proclaimed the winner of five championships with the Lakers.

Michael Jordan begins to play in 1984 in the NBA, causing a greater interest in the league. In 1989, the number of teams already rose to 27, following the expansion process. During the 1990s, Jordan would win six rings with the Bulls.

The beginnings of the new millennium were dominated by the Los Angeles Lakers of Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant. Another prominent team in the 2000s was the San Antonio Spurs. The Celtics regained the throne in 2008, while the Lakers took the 2009 and 2010 championships.

The Dallas Mavericks were crowned in 2011 and the Miami Heat got a back-to-back that was believed to be the start of a dynasty, but LeBron James, the Heat star, returned to Cleveland to give the franchise its first title in 2016.

Golden State Warriors won 3 rings in 5 consecutive finals while the young Toronto Raptors team took the 2019 edition

The 2020s began with the Los Angeles Lakers as champions after a decade


The Draft is a system to control that the access of new players to the league benefits the competition. Basically it allows the weakest teams of one year to select the players they want for the next campaign, leveling the competition in the short / medium term. All players who want to be part of the NBA sign up to participate in the Draft election that takes place in early summer. In it, each of the teams in the league has the right to choose a player in principle. In principle the team with the worst rate of victories in the previous regular season chose the player he wanted, then he did the next team with fewer victories, etc.The June 30 of the year 2011 the NBA officially announced the lockout due to the disagreement of the players and the owners respectively. This would be the second time a strike has been called in the NBA. The first occurred in the 1998 – 1999 season.

What is NBA


Eastern Conference

  • Boston Celtics
  • Brooklyn nets
  • New York Knicks
  • Philadelphia 76ers
  • Toronto raptors
  • Chicago Bulls
  • Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Detroit Pistons
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Milwaukee bucks
  • Atlanta Hawks
  • Charlotte hornets
  • Miami Heat
  • Orlando Magic
  • Washington Wizards

Western Conference

  • Denver nuggets
  • Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Oklahoma city thunder
  • Portland Trail Blazers
  • Utah Jazz
  • Los angeles lakers
  • Los Angeles Clippers
  • Golden state warriors
  • Phoenix suns
  • Sacramento Kings
  • Dallas mavericks
  • Houston Rockets
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • New Orleans Pelicans
  • San antonio spurs